Barryland Theme Park

A new showcase for a Swiss cultural icon

The history of the St. Bernard at the heart of our encounters

Backed by a wealth of expertise gained since its founding, the Barry Foundation has positioned itself as a veritable centre of excellence – not only in regard to breeding St. Bernards, but also in terms of the social interventions that the dogs are involved in. We want to showcase all of this and more as part of a new, expanded, modern Barryland that will be both educational and entertaining. The rather cramped confines of the current museum leave little room to introduce new attractions or welcome the growing number of visitors. This is why we’ve launched our “Barryland Theme Park 2022-25” project.

Visitors to our 20 000 m2 site will get to learn everything we know about our favourite four-legged friend: from the myths and legends surrounding the breed’s 300-year history to the traits that make the St. Bernard a St. Bernard, this Swiss national treasure will share the many aspects of its character with the world.

Beat Rieder, President of the Board of Patrons & Marie-Noëlle Zen-Ruffinen, Vice-president of the Board of Patrons
A truly unique park

The world’s only theme park dedicated to the St. Bernard dog is a place to get to know this international icon of rescue and ambassador of Swiss historical and cultural heritage. A public window into the world of breeding the dog from the Hospice on the Great St. Bernard Pass, the new Barryland Theme Park will provide an immersive visit brimming with emotional, entertaining and educational content. By creating new, expansive parks, the project will both ensure the well-being of our St. Bernards and introduce the public to the breed in a way that respects our dogs’ needs – all while promoting the cultural, natural and gastronomic delights of the Valais and cross-border region through the symbol of this iconic breed.

We are overjoyed to be involved in this fantastic project and, through your invaluable support, to have the opportunity to lead it to the success that it deserves.

At the heart of a cultural and tourist hub

Located in Martigny, a historic crossroad of paths leading to the Simplon, Forclaz and Great St. Bernard passes, the latter of which is the gateway to the Aosta Valley, the new Barryland Theme Park will boost the development of a robust museum-based hub in the heart of the historic home of the St. Bernard. The modern Barryland Theme Park will be designed to satisfy both contemporary and future standards in sustainability, and will attract many visitors to the city and surrounding region – visitors who will spread the word throughout Switzerland and beyond.

Barry is a cultural symbol of the region, the Canton of Valais and Switzerland as a whole. Nestled in the heart of the Valais countryside, both the park and the culinary experience on offer will fully reflect the region’s distinct identity.

« Barry isn’t a hero created by Marvel Studios. He appeals to our collective unconsciousness, to our culture, to our history. To pay due respect to him, however, we didn’t want ostentatious architecture or a grand gesture… Instead, we wanted a discreet architectural design embedded in the strong topography of the area, which is one reason this particular breed has flourished here. By juxtaposing elements that are reminiscent of a familiar landscape, we allow people to connect with the universe of Barry for a time. »
Michael Darbellay, Partner at GAME Architects with Nicolas Meilland
An unforgettable experience

Visitors will discover the St. Bernard through five thematic worlds that epitomise the breed’s characteristic personality : Rescuer – Friend – Star – Playmate – Bon vivant.

These will accompany the visitor throughout their visit and will ensure that they have a unique and unforgettable experience.

Play Video about capture d’écran 2021 07 27 à 14.14.50

Schedule and Timeline

July 2019
November 2019 - September 2020
June - October 2020
February 2020 onwards
April 2021
June 2022
July - November 2022
December 2022
April 2023
November 2024
December 2024

Founding and first meeting of the Board of Patrons

Architectural design competition – creation of the tender dossier,founding of the organising committee and competition jury, research intoand selection of architecture firms, presentation and selection of projects

Project feasibility and financing study conducted

Fundraising campaign begins, targeting local authorities,institutions, companies, foundations and benefactors

Project is presented to the media

Project preliminary draft revised and updated,creation of the consolidated overall quote

Finalisation of the final project

Launch of the survey

Construction work begins

Construction work ends

Park opens to public

Budget and financing

If you wish to contribute to the financing of this magnificent project dedicated to the legend and legacy of Barry, you have several possibilities:

Make a donation for the realisation of the theme park

IBAN : CH40 0076 5001 0413 7530 9

Associate your company's name with the preservation of a Swiss cultural symbol through a partnership.

If you are interested, please contact:
Alexandra Burgdorf
+41 (0)58 317 77 20
parcbarryland@fondation-barry.ch

Thank you for your support!

PARC THÉMATIQUE BARRYLAND

Nouvel écrin pour un symbole culturel suisse

L’histoire du Saint-Bernard au cœur de nos rencontres

L’expertise développée depuis sa création permet à la Fondation Barry de se positionner comme véritable centre de compétences en termes d’élevage, ainsi qu’avec les interventions sociales assistées par les Saint-Bernard. C’est tout cela que nous souhaitons montrer au sein d’un nouveau Barryland étendu et moderne, pédagogique et ludique. Le musée actuel quelque peu exigu laisse peu d’espace à de nouvelles attractions et au nombre croissant de visiteurs. C’est pourquoi nous avons lancé notre projet « Parc thématique Barryland 2022-25 ».

Sur une surface de 25 000 m2, nous transmettrons à nos visiteurs nos connaissances à propos de notre ami à quatre pattes : des mythes et légendes qui entourent son histoire tricentenaire aux particularités de son caractère, le Saint-Bernard, symbole culturel suisse, présentera ses multiples facettes au public.

Beat Rieder, président du comité de patronage, et Marie-Noëlle Zen-Ruffinen, vice-présidente du comité de patronage
Un parc unique au monde

Le seul parc au monde dédié au chien Saint-Bernard est un lieu de rencontre avec l’ambassadeur du patrimoine culturel et historique de la Suisse et icône mondiale du sauvetage. Vitrine publique de l’élevage du chien de l’Hospice du col du Grand-St-Bernard, le nouveau parc thématique Barryland offrira une visite immersive avec des contenus émotionnels, ludiques et éducatifs. Il assurera, par la réalisation de nouveaux et vastes parcs, le bien-être des chiens et fera connaître au public le chien Saint-Bernard dans le respect de ses besoins, tout en mettant en valeur l’offre culturelle, naturelle et gastronomique du Valais et de la région transfrontalière au travers du symbole du Saint-Bernard.

Nous sommes très heureux de nous impliquer dans ce magnifique projet pour l’amener, avec votre précieux soutien, vers le succès qu’il mérite.

Au cœur d’un pôle culturel et touristique

Situé à Martigny, carrefour historique des routes menant aux cols du Simplon, de la Forclaz, du Grand-St-Bernard et par lui au Val d’Aoste, le futur parc thématique Barryland vient renforcer le développement d’un pôle muséal fort dans la région d’origine des chiens Saint-Bernard. Attraction moderne, conçue dans le respect des normes actuelles et futures en termes de durabilité, le parc thématique Barryland attirera de nombreux visiteurs dans la ville et la région, les faisant rayonner dans toute la Suisse ainsi qu’à l’étranger.

Barry est un symbole culturel pour la région, le canton du Valais et la Suisse. L’identité valaisanne se reflètera dans l’environnement, niché au cœur de la nature valaisanne, ainsi que dans l’offre gastronomique proposée.

« Barry n’est pas un héros sorti des studios Marvel. Il fait appel à notre inconscient collectif, à notre culture, notre histoire. Pour lui rendre hommage, nous n’avons pas souhaité une architecture ostentatoire, un grand geste… mais plutôt une architecture discrète inscrite dans une topographie forte, au service de cette race d’exception. Par la succession de plans cadres qu’elle génère, ou la juxtaposition d’atmosphères évocatrices d’un paysage qui nous est familier, elle permet pour un temps de rentrer en connexion avec l’univers de Barry. »
Michael Darbellay, Architecte associé du bureau GAME avec Nicolas Meilland

Une expérience inoubliable

Le Saint-Bernard sera à découvrir dans cinq univers thématiques qui définissent ses traits de caractère : Sauveteur, Ami, Star, Joueur, Bon Vivant.

Ceux-ci accompagneront le visiteur tout au long de sa visite et lui assureront une expérience inédite et inoubliable.

Play Video about capture d’écran 2021 07 27 à 14.14.50

Planning

Juillet 2019
Novembre 2019 - Septembre 2020
Juin - Octobre 2020
Dès février 2020
Avril 2021
Juin 2022
Juillet - Novembre 2022
Décembre 2022
Avril 2023
Novembre 2024
Décembre 2024

Constitution du Comité de patronage et première rencontre

Concours d’architecture: élaboration du dossier, constitution du comité et du jury, recherche et choix des bureauxd’architecture, présentation et sélection des projets

Étude de faisabilité du projet et de son financement

Recherche de fonds auprès de collectivités, institutions,entreprises, fondations et mécènes

Présentation du projet aux médias

Adaptation de l’avant-projet et établissement du devis général consolidé

Finalisation du projet définitif

Mise à l’enquête

Début des travaux

Fin des travaux

Ouverture du parc

Coûts et financements

Si vous souhaitez contribuer au financement de ce magnifique projet dédié à la légende et à l’héritage de Barry, vous avez plusieurs possibilités :

Faire un don en faveur de la réalisation du parc thématique

IBAN : CH40 0076 5001 0413 7530 9

Associer le nom de votre entreprise à la sauvegarde d’un symbole culturel suisse par l’intermédiaire d’un partenariat.

En cas d’intérêt, vous pouvez contacter Mélanie Montani-Rey
+41 (0)27 480 44 30 ou +41 (0)79 395 36 72
parcbarryland@fondation-barry.ch

Merci pour votre soutien !